Webinars

[Event Series] Incorporating Digital Preservation into Your DAM Program

16 Mar 2022 | 3:00 PM GMT | 4:00 PM GMT+1 | 11:00 AM EDT | 8:00 AM PDT | 2:00 AM GMT+11

The terms Digital Asset Management and Digital Preservation are often seen as two sides of the same coin. As disciplines and technologies they are quite different, performing distinct but complementary roles. When used in combination, they can lead to greater long-term brand value and asset reuse.

This new 3‑part online education program will use real-life use cases to explore the value of preserving your most valuable brand assets, and how to build a strategy that combines the benefits of both types of systems. 

The course will be moderated by Theresa Regli, DAM Industry Strategist, Analyst and Author and will include experts from McDonald’s, Yale University and BT

What you will learn: 

  • What is digital preservation – how is it used – why is it different from DAM
  • How DAM and Digital Preservation can be combined to create long-term brand value and reduce DAM clutter 
  • How to ensure the long-term authenticity, integrity and reuse of digital assets 
  • How to use long term digital assets to protect trademarks and power brand storytelling 
  • How to enrich and enhance metadata for long-term asset reuse 
  • How to build a preservation strategy that combines people, process and technology 
  • How to get started preserving your digital assets for free 

Registration includes access to all three sessions to view live and on-demand.

Session 1: Preserving Long-Term Digital Assets

Wednesday, March 16 — 8AM PDT / 11AM EDT / 3PM GMT / 4PM CET

  • Business case and value 
  • Preservation and DAM — why together? 
  • Preservation vs. Archives (physical and digital) 
  • Case study

Moderated by: Theresa Regli

Speaker: Michael Bullington, Senior Archives Manager, McDonald’s Corporation

Session 2: Standards and Approaches for Digital Preservation

Wednesday, March 23 — 8AM PDT / 11AM EDT / 3PM GMT / 4PM CET

  • Metadata
  • Industry standards
  • Approaches for preservation projects 
  • Case study

Moderated by: Theresa Regli

Speaker: Euan Cochrane, Digital Preservation Manager, Yale University Library

Session 3: Building a Strategy for Preserving Long-Term Digital Assets

Wednesday, March 30 — 8AM PDT / 11AM EDT / 4PM BST / 5PM CEST

  • People, process and technology 
  • Auditing your assets 
  • Getting buy-in
  • Case study

Moderated by: Theresa Regli

Speaker: Anne Archer, Head of Heritage and Archives, BT

Start preserving your digital content today