Webinars

Creating advocacy for digital preservation at UAL & University of Bristol

22 Oct 2019 | 3:00 PM BST | 4:00 PM CEST | 10:00 AM EDT

One of the biggest challenges for academic institutions working in an environment of often limited resources - is facing up to what (in the case of digital preservation) is both a technological and a financial conundrum.

In this webinar we are joined by speakers from University of the Arts London (UAL) and University of Bristol as they provide practical guidance on how to make the case to internal stakeholders for embarking upon a digital preservation programme.

Based on their own experiences, they will guide you through how their archive teams led the charge, with an awareness of the importance for advocacy to ensure that key stakeholders across the university understood the institutional value and benefits of an OAIS standards based active digital preservation solution.

Areas we will explore include:

• Typical barriers to progress
• The risks and costs of doing nothing
• Establishing stakeholder understanding and buy-in
• Leveraging digital preservation and access to elevate the value of the archives & library

Speakers:

  • Elisabeth Thurlow, Digital Archives & Collections Implementation Manager, University of the Arts London (UAL)
  • Debra Hiom, Assistant Director, Research Services, University of Bristol
  • Emma Hancox, Digital Archivist, University of Bristol
  • Tracy Broadhurst, Academic Digital Preservation Account Manager, Preservica