Press release

Preservica congratulates 2020 Emmett Leahy award winner

Preservica, the market leader in active digital preservation software, is proud to extend its support for the Emmett Leahy Award, and offer congratulations to the 2020 winner, Dr Dinesh Katre, a Director of the Center for Development of Advanced Computing (C‑DAC), India.

The prestigious global award recognizes outstanding contributions by individuals for their impact in the field of records and information management. 

At a recent award ceremony held in Pune, India, Dr Dinesh Katre was honored for his sustained international leadership over several decades on issues of digital stewardship and preservation. His efforts in creating India’s National Digital Preservation Program and its flagship project, the Center of Excellence for Digital Preservation, have helped to advance the cause of providing robust and trustworthy platforms for the preservation of digital materials, including for electronic recordkeeping systems and intelligent archives.

The Emmett Leahy Committee also recognized his role in developing the e‑library and archiving system for the National Cultural Audiovisual Archive, which along with many other achievements, have had a major impact both for the citizens of India, as well as for India achieving greater global recognition in the field 

Past winners have included preeminent thought-leaders, educators and practitioners including Richard Marciano (2017), Jason Baron (2011), David Giaretta (2012), Charles Dollar (2005) and digital preservation pioneer and author Adrian Brown (2016), to name just a few. (A complete list of past winners can be found at www​.emmet​tleahyaward​.org).

Professor Julie McLeod, a previous winner in 2014 and current Chair of the Emmett Leahy Award Committee, said:

On behalf of the Emmett Leahy Committee, I am delighted that we have honored Dinesh Katre with this award. He is the first winner of the Emmett Leahy Award in its 53 year history who works and resides in India, which demonstrates the Award’s international significance. I also wish to thank Preservica for its continued support of the Emmett Leahy Award.” 

Mike Quinn, CEO of Preservica, adds:

We are proud to continue our support for such a prestigious and long-standing award in the field of records and information management. We congratulate Dinesh for his achievements in digital preservation and role in developing India’s National Audiovisiual Archive.” 

Dr Vijay P. Bhatkar, Chancellor of Nalanda University, kindly presented Dinesh Katre with the award plaque on behalf of the Emmett Leahy Award Committee following an address by the 2012 Award winner, Dr David Giaretta who chaired the panel that developed the OAIS digital preservation standard. 

About the Emmett Leahy Award

The Emmett Leahy Award honors a pioneer in the field of records and information management. The award recognizes an individual whose contributions and outstanding accomplishments have a major impact on the records and information management profession. Established in 1967, this award honors the spirit of innovation, dedication, and excellence in records and information management of Emmett Leahy, an icon in the development of the life cycle approach to managing records and information. 

The Award selection is made by the Emmett Leahy Award Committee which consists of the immediate past ten Emmett Leahy Award winners and makes its decisions independently. It is not formally affiliated with any organization or professional association. www​.emmet​tleahyaward​.org

About Preservica

Preservica is changing the way organizations around the world protect and future-proof critical long-term digital information. Available in the cloud (SaaS) or on-premise, our award-winning active digital preservation software has been designed from the ground-up to tackle the unique challenges of ensuring digital information remains accessible and trustworthy over decades. 

It’s a proven solution that’s trusted by 100s of business, archives, libraries, museums and government organizations around the world — including the UK National Archives, Texas State Library and Archives, MoMA, Yale and HSBC — to name a few. Visit: www​.pre​ser​vi​ca​.com Twitter: @preservica

Share this post

Start preserving your digital content today